## LB 699

## LEGISLATIVE BILL 699

Approved by the Governor May 26, 2011

Introduced by Redistricting Committee: Langemeier, 23, Chairperson; Conrad, 46; Dubas, 34; Fischer, 43; Lautenbaugh, 18; Mello, 5; Nelson, 6; Schilz, 47; Avery, 28.

FOR AN ACT relating to redistricting; to amend sections 24-201.02 and 24-201.04, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska; to change boundaries of the Supreme Court judicial districts by the adoption of maps by reference; to harmonize provisions; to repeal the original sections; and to declare an emergency.

Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. Section 24-201.02, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is amended to read:

24-201.02 (1) Based on the 2000 2010 Census of Population by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, the State of Nebraska is hereby divided into six Supreme Court judicial districts. Each district shall be entitled to one Supreme Court judge. The limits and designations of the six districts shall be as follows:

District No. 1. The counties of Lancaster, Cass, and Otoe;

District No. 2. That part of Douglas County not included in Supreme Court judicial district 4;

District No. 3. The counties of Boyd, Knox, Gedar, Dixon, Dakota, Holt, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Thurston, Garfield, Wheeler, Boone, Madison, Stanton, Cuming, Burt, Greeley, Howard, Nance, Merrick, Platte, Colfax, Dodge, and Washington;

District No. 4. Sarpy County and that part of Douglas County beginning at the intersection of the Douglas-Sarpy County line and South 180th Street, north on South 180th Street to West Center Road, east on West Center Road to Interstate Highway 680, north on Interstate Highway 680 to Pacific Street, east on Pacific Street to Turner Boulevard, southeast then northeast on Turner Boulevard to Pacific Street, east on Pacific Street and continuing east along east-west lines extending east from Pacific Street to South 20th Street, south on South 20th Street to Pierce Street, east on Pierce Street and continuing east along an east-west line extending east from Pierce Street to South 16th Street, north on South 16th Street to the intersection of an east-west line extending west from Pacific Street, east along such line to Pacific Street, east on Pacific Street to South 11th Street, north on South 11th Street to Mason Street, east on Mason Street to South 10th Street, north on South 10th Street to the Union Pacific Railroad right-of-way, east along the Union Pacific Railroad right-of-way to the Nebraska-Iowa state line, south along the Nebraska-Iowa state line to the Douglas-Sarpy County line, and west along the Douglas-Sarpy County line to the point of beginning;

District No. 5. The counties of Phelps, Harlan, Kearney, Franklin, Hall, Adams, Webster, Nuckolls, Thayer, Clay, Hamilton, Polk, Butler, Saunders, York, Seward, Fillmore, Saline, Jefferson, Gage, Johnson, Nemaha, Pawnee, and Richardson; and

District No. 6. The counties of Valley, Sherman, Buffalo, Furnas, Gosper, Dawson, Custer, Loup, Blaine, Rock, Brown, Keya Paha, Cherry, Thomas, Logan, Lincoln, Frontier, Red Willow, Hitchcock, Hayes, McPherson, Hooker, Grant, Arthur, Keith, Perkins, Chase, Dundy, Deuel, Garden, Sheridan, Cheyenne, Morrill, Box Butte, Dawes, Sioux, Scotts Bluff, Banner, and Kimball.

- (2) The numbers and boundaries of the districts are designated and established by maps identified and labeled as maps SC11-19002-1, SC11-19002-2, SC11-19002-3, SC11-19002-4, SC11-19002-5, and SC11-19002-6, filed with the Clerk of the Legislature, and incorporated by reference as part of this legislative bill.
- (3) (a) The Clerk of the Legislature shall transfer possession of the maps referred to in subsection (2) of this section to the Secretary of State on the effective date of this act.
- (b) When questions of interpretation of district boundaries arise, maps referred to in subsection (2) of this section in possession of the Secretary of State shall serve as the indication of the legislative intent in drawing the district boundaries.
- (c) Each election commissioner or county clerk shall obtain copies of maps referred to in subsection (2) of this section for the election commissioner's or clerk's county from the Secretary of State.
- (d) The Secretary of State shall also have available for viewing on his or her web site maps referred to in subsection (2) of this section

LB 699

identifying the boundaries for the districts.

Sec. 2. Section 24--201.04, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is amended to read:

24-201.04 The descriptions of districts in For purposes of section 24-201.02, the Legislature adopts the official population figures and maps are taken from the 2000 2010 Census Redistricting (Public Law 94-171) TIGER/Line Shapefiles published by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.

Sec. 3. Original sections 24-201.02 and 24-201.04, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, are repealed.

Sec. 4. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect when passed and approved according to law.