LEGISLATIVE BILL 700

Approved by the Governor May 26, 2011

Introduced by Redistricting Committee: Langemeier, 23, Chairperson; Avery, 28; Conrad, 46; Dubas, 34; Fischer, 43; Mello, 5; Nelson, 6; Schilz, 47.

FOR AN ACT relating to redistricting; to amend sections 75-101.01 and 75-101.02, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska; to change boundaries of the public service commissioner districts by the adoption of maps by reference; to harmonize provisions; to repeal the original sections; and to declare an emergency.
Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. Section 75-101.01, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is amended to read:

75-101.01 (1) Based on the 2000 2010 Census of Population by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, the State of Nebraska is hereby divided into five public service commissioner districts, and each public service commissioner district shall be entitled to one member. The limits and designations of the five districts shall be as follows:

(1) District No. 1. The counties of Lancaster, Cass, Otoe, Cage, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, and Richardson;

(2) District No. 2. That part of Douglas County beginning at the intersection of the Douglas-Sarpy County line and Harry Andersen Avenue, northwest on Harry Andersen Avenue to Colfing Green Drive, northeast on Colfing Green Drive to Oak Hills Drive, northwest on Oak Hills Drive to South 122nd Street, follow South 122nd Street north to Q Street, east on Q Street to South 120th Street, north on South 120th Street to the Union Pacific Railroad right-of-way, west along the Union Pacific Railroad right-of-way to the western boundary of precinct 5-37, north along such boundary to A Street, west on A Street to South 126th Avenue, north on South 126th Avenue to Augusta Avenue, northwest on Augusta Avenue to South 129th Avenue, north on South 129th Avenue to West Center Road, west on West Center Road to South 132nd Street, north on South 132nd Street to the northern boundary of precinct $6-9_7$ follow such boundary west to Cedar Street, west on Cedar Street to South 135th Avenue, northeast on South 135th Avenue to Shirley Street, northwest on Shirley Street to Trendwood Drive, northeast on Trendwood Drive to South 132nd Street, north on South 132nd Street to West Dodge Road, east on West Dodge Road to the eastern boundary of precinct 6-65, follow such boundary north, east, and then north to Burt Street, east on Burt Street to Rose Lane, northeast on Rose Lane to Burt Court, east on Burt Court to North 124th Court, south on North 124th Court to Burt Plaza, east on Burt Plaza to Burt Street, east on Burt Street to North 122nd Street, north on North 122nd Street to Nicholas Street, east on Nicholas Street to North 120th Street, north on North 120th Street to Blondo Street, east on Blondo Street to Big Papillion Creek, northwest and north on Big Papillion Creek to West Maple Road, west on West Maple Road to North 120th Street, north on North 120th Street to the northern boundary of precinct 7-49, follow such boundary east then north to Military Road, east on Military Road to North 114th Street, north on North 114th Street to State Street, east on State Street to Blair High Road, north on Blair High Road to North 108th Street, east and north on North 108th Street to the Douglas-Washington County line, east along the Douglas-Washington County line to the Nebraska-Iowa state line, south along the Nebraska-Iowa state line to the Douglas-Sarpy County line, and west along the Douglas-Sarpy County line to the point of beginning;

(3) District No. 3. The counties of Thurston, Cuming, Burt, Dodge, Washington, Saunders, and Sarpy and that part of Douglas County not located in public service commissioner district 2;

(4) District No. 4. The counties of Jefferson, Thayer, Nuckolls, Webster, Adams, Clay, Fillmore, Saline, Seward, York, Hamilton, Hall, Merrick, Polk, Butler, Colfax, Platte, Nance, Boone, Madison, Stanton, Wayne, Pierce, Cedar, Dixon, and Dakota; and

(5) District No. 5. The counties of Franklin, Harlan, Furnas, Red Willow, Hitchcock, Dundy, Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Phelps, Kearney, Buffalo, Dawson, Lincoln, Perkins, Keith, Deuel, Cheyenne, Kimball, Banner, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Custer, Sherman, Howard, Valley, Greeley, Wheeler, Garfield, Loup, Blaine, Thomas, Hooker, Grant, Box Butte, Sioux, Dawes, Sheridan, Cherry, Brown, Rock, Holt, Antelope, Knox, Boyd, and Keya Paha.

(2) The numbers and boundaries of the districts are designated

and established by maps identified and labeled as maps PSC11-1, PSC11-2, PSC11-3, PSC11-4, and PSC11-5, filed with the Clerk of the Legislature, and incorporated by reference as part of this legislative bill.

(3) (a) The Clerk of the Legislature shall transfer possession of the maps referred to in subsection (2) of this section to the Secretary of State on the effective date of this act.

(b) When questions of interpretation of district boundaries arise, the maps referred to in subsection (2) of this section in possession of the Secretary of State shall serve as the indication of the legislative intent in drawing the district boundaries.

(c) Each election commissioner or county clerk shall obtain copies of the maps referred to in subsection (2) of this section for the election commissioner's or clerk's county from the Secretary of State.

(d) The Secretary of State shall also have available for viewing on his or her web site the maps referred to in subsection (2) of this section identifying the boundaries for the districts.

Sec. 2. Section 75-101.02, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is amended to read:

75-101.02 The descriptions of districts in For purposes of section 75-101.01, the Legislature adopts the official population figures and maps are taken from the 2000 2010 Census Redistricting (Public Law 94-171) TIGER/Line files Shapefiles published by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.

Sec. 3. Original sections 75-101.01 and 75-101.02, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, are repealed.

Sec. 4. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect when passed and approved according to law.