LB 704 LB 704

## LEGISLATIVE BILL 704

Approved by the Governor May 26, 2011

Introduced by Redistricting Committee: Langemeier, 23, Chairperson; Fischer, 43; Lautenbaugh, 18; Nelson, 6; Schilz, 47.

FOR AN ACT relating to redistricting; to amend sections 32-504 and 32-505, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska; to change district boundaries of the Representatives in the Congress of the United States by the adoption of maps by reference; to harmonize provisions; to repeal the original sections; and to declare an emergency.

Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. Section 32-504, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is amended to read:

32-504 (1) Based on the 2000 2010 Census of Population by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, the State of Nebraska is hereby divided into three districts for electing Representatives in the Congress of the United States, and each district shall be entitled to elect one representative. The limits and designations of the three districts shall be as follows:

(1) The first district shall contain the counties of Richardson, Nemaha, Otoe, Cass, Johnson, Pawnee, Gage, Lancaster, Saunders, Seward, Butler, Dodge, Washington, Colfax, Madison, Burt, Stanton, Cuming, Thurston, Wayne, Dixon, and Dakota, that part of Sarpy County not included in the second district, and that part of Cedar County beginning at the intersection of the Cedar-Dixon County line and the northern boundary of Precinct 7, follow such boundary west to the intersection of a north-south line extending north from 574th Avenue, south along such line to 574th Avenue, south on 574th Avenue to 886th Road, west on 886th Road to State Highway 57, north on State Highway 57 to 887th Road, west on 887th Road to the intersection of a north-south line extending north from 570th Avenue, south along such line to 570th Avenue, south on 570th Avenue to 884th Road, west on 884th Road to 566th Avenue, south on 566th Avenue to Bow Creek, follow Bow Creek west to 883rd Road, west on 883rd Road to 564th Avenue, south on 564th Avenue to 882nd Road, south on 882nd Road to 564th Avenue, south on 564th Avenue and continuing south along a north-south line extending south from 564th Avenue to 564th Avenue, south on 564th Avenue to 870th Road, west on 870th Road to 564th Avenue, south on 564th Avenue to the Cedar-Wayne County line, east along the Cedar-Wayne County line to the Gedar-Dixon County line, and north along the Gedar-Dixon County line to the point of beginning;

(2) The second district shall contain Douglas County and that part of Sarpy County beginning at the intersection of the Douglas-Sarpy County line and South 156th Street, south on South 156th Street to Giles Road, east on Giles Road to South 132nd Street, south on South 132nd Street to State Highway 370, east on State Highway 370 to the western boundary of the Papillion-La Vista Public School District, follow such boundary south to Schram Road, east on Schram Road to the intersection of a north-south line extending north from South 120th Street, south along such line to the intersection of an east-west line extending west from Maass Road, east along such line to South 114th Street, north on South 114th Street to Schram Road, east on Schram Road to the southern corporate limits of the city of Papillion, follow the southern corporate limits of the city of Papillion east to State Highway 370, east on State Highway 370 to South 72nd Street, south on South 72nd Street to Capehart Road, east on Capehart Road to South 60th Street, south on South 60th Street and continuing south along a north-south line extending south from South 60th Street to Platteview Road, east on Platteview Road to Dyson Hollow Road, north on Dyson Hollow Road to the southern boundary of the Bellevue Public School District, follow such boundary east to U.S. Highway 75, south on U.S. Highway 75 to the Sarpy-Cass County line, east along the Sarpy-Cass County line to the Nebraska-Iowa state line, north along the Nebraska-Iowa state line to the Douglas-Sarpy County line, and west along the Douglas-Sarpy County line to the point of beginning; and

(3) The third district shall contain the counties of Jefferson, Saline, Thayer, Fillmore, York, Polk, Platte, Pierce, Knox, Antelope, Boone, Nance, Merrick, Hamilton, Clay, Nuckolls, Webster, Adams, Hall, Howard, Greeley, Wheeler, Holt, Boyd, Garfield, Valley, Sherman, Buffalo, Kearney, Franklin, Harlan, Phelps, Furnas, Gosper, Dawson, Custer, Loup, Blaine, Keya Paha, Rock, Brown, Cherry, Thomas, Logan, Lincoln, Frontier, Red Willow, Hitchcock, Hayes, McPherson, Hooker, Grant, Arthur, Keith, Perkins, Chase, Dundy, Deuel, Garden, Sheridan, Cheyenne, Morrill, Box Butte, Dawes, Sioux,

LB 704 LB 704

Scotts Bluff, Banner, and Kimball and that part of Cedar County not included in the first district.

- (2) The numbers and boundaries of the districts are designated and established by maps identified and labeled as maps CON11-30001-1, CON11-30001A, CON11-30001-2, CON11-30001-3, CON11-30001-3A, filed with the Clerk of the Legislature, and incorporated by reference as part of this legislative bill.
- (b) When questions of interpretation of district boundaries arise, the maps referred to in subsection (2) of this section in possession of the Secretary of State shall serve as the indication of the legislative intent in drawing the district boundaries.
- (c) Each election commissioner or county clerk shall obtain copies of the maps referred to in subsection (2) of this section for the election commissioner's or clerk's county from the Secretary of State.
- (d) The Secretary of State shall also have available for viewing on his or her web site the maps referred to in subsection (2) of this section identifying the boundaries for the districts.
- Sec. 2. Section 32-505, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is amended to read:
- 32-505 The descriptions of districts in For purposes of section 32-504, the Legislature adopts the official population figures and maps are taken from the 2000 2010 Census Redistricting (Public Law 94-171) TIGER/Line Files Shapefiles published by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.
- Sec. 3. Original sections 32-504 and 32-505, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, are repealed.
- Sec. 4. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect when passed and approved according to law.