LEGISLATIVE BILL 790

Approved by the Governor March 14, 2012

Introduced by Coash, 27.

FOR AN ACT relating to courts; to amend section 24-503, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska; to change the number of judges in certain county judge judicial districts; to provide an operative date; to repeal the original section; and to declare an emergency.

Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. Section 24-503, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is amended to read:

24-503 For the purpose of serving the county courts in each county, twelve county judge districts are hereby created:

District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Saline, Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, and Richardson;

District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass, and Otoe;

District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster;

District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;

District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick, Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, and Saunders;

District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, Dakota, Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington; District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, Cuming, Antelope,

Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton;

District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard;

District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and Hall; District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Fillmore, Adams, Clay, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, and Nuckolls;

District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker, Thomas, Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and Furnas; and

District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux, Dawes, Box Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner, Kimball, Cheyenne, Grant, and Deuel.

District 4 shall have twelve county judges. Districts 3 and 5 shall have six county judges. District 3 shall have seven county judges. Districts 5, 11, and 12 shall have five county judges. Districts 2, 6, and 9 shall have four county judges. Districts 1, 7, 8, and 10 shall have three county judges.

Judge of the county court shall include any person appointed to the office of county judge or municipal judge prior to July 1, 1985, pursuant to Article V, section 21, of the Constitution of Nebraska.

Any person serving as a municipal judge in district 3 or 4 immediately prior to July 1, 1985, shall be a judge of the county court and shall be empowered to hear only those cases as provided in section 24-517 which the presiding judge of the county court for such district, with the concurrence of the Supreme Court, shall direct.

Sec. 2. This act becomes operative on July 1, 2012.

Sec. 3. Original section 24-503, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is repealed.

Sec. 4. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect when passed and approved according to law.