ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE

SECOND SESSION

LEGISLATIVE RESOLUTION 449

Introduced by Friesen, 34.

WHEREAS, in June 1871, the town of Aurora was laid out by founders David Stone, Robert Miller, Nathaniel Thorpe, Darius Wilcox, and S.P. Lewis. These founders sought a place to establish a town to reside in, to attract new residents to live in, to weather the storms of life in, and to build a progressive prosperous future for the next generations; and

WHEREAS, Aurora continues to thrive in the areas related to business, education, agriculture, and industry; and

WHEREAS, Aurorans take great pride in their community, including their historic town square and their recreational and aquatic facilities that offer an abundance of opportunities to all residents of the city; and

WHEREAS, the city of Aurora continues to build on its past successes while preparing for a more prosperous future.

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE MEMBERS OF THE ONE HUNDRED SEVENTH LEGISLATURE OF NEBRASKA, SECOND SESSION:

1. That the Legislature congratulates the city of Aurora on the one hundred fifty years since its founding.

2. That a copy of this resolution be sent to the city of Aurora.

-1-