## ONE HUNDRED EIGHTH LEGISLATURE - FIRST SESSION - 2023 COMMITTEE STATEMENT LR1CA

Hearing Date:Friday February 24, 2023Committee On:Government, Military and Veterans AffairsIntroducer:BloodOne Liner:Constitutional amendment to require the Legislature to reimburse political subdivisions as prescribed

## **Roll Call Vote - Final Committee Action:**

Advanced to General File with amendment(s)

Vote Results:										
Aye:	8	5	Senators	Aguilar,	Brewer,	Conrad,	Halloran,	Hunt,	Lowe,	Raybould,
			Sanders							
Nay:										
Absent:										
Present Not Voting:										

Testimony:	
Proponents:	Representing:
Senator Carol Blood	Introducer
Doug Kagan	Nebraska Taxpayers for Freedom
Jon Cannon	Nebraska Association of County Officials (NACO)
Jim Warren	Sarpy County
Lynn Rex	League of Nebraska Municipalities
Ron Peterson	Hall County Board of Commissioners
Jack Moles	Nebraska Rural Community Schools Association (NRCSA)
Allie French	Nebraskans Against Government Overreach
Sarah Centineo	Nebraska Association of School Boards (NASB) and
	Bellevue Public Schools
Darrell Zabrocki	Seward County
Joe Hewgley	Lincoln County
Rick Vest	Lancaster County Board
Al Davis	Nebraska Chapter Sierra Club/Independent Cattlemen of
	Nebraska
Opponents:	Representing:
Neutral:	Representing:
* ADA Accommodation Written Testimony	

## Summary of purpose and/or changes:

Summary:

This resolution proposes amending the Nebraska Constitution, Article III, section 22, to forbid the Legislature from imposing new program expenses on political subdivisions without full reimbursement by the state for such expenses. Any new mandates from the Legislature would be required to be accompanied by a specific appropriation to the affected political subdivisions.

## Explanation of amendments:

AM 591 delays the effective date of this proposed constitutional amendment to January 1, 2025. The amendment also rewords the substance of the bill to reframe it as a conditional requirement on the Legislature rather than as a prohibition on the Legislature with an exception.

Tom Brewer, Chairperson