LEGISLATIVE BILL 1301

Approved by the Governor March 21, 1972

Introduced by Judiciary Committee, Roland A. Luedtke, 28th District, Chairman; Ernest Chambers, 11th District; Walter H. Epke, 24th District; Fred W. Carstens, 30th District; P. J. Morgan, 4th District

AN ACT to amend sections 5-105 and 5-105.03, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, 1943, relating to apportionment; to change the boundaries of district court judicial districts; to delete obsolete matter; to provide for additional judges and their appointment; to provide when changes shall become operative; and to repeal the original sections, and also sections 5-105 and 5-105.03, Revised Statutes Supplement, 1971.

Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. That section 5-105, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, 1943, be amended to read as follows:

5-105. The State of Nebraska is hereby divided into twenty-one judicial districts as follows:

District No. 1 shall consist of the counties of Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha and Richardson;

District No. 2 shall consist of the counties of Sarpy, Cass and Otoe;

District No. 3 shall consist of the county of Lancaster:

District No. 4 shall consist of the county of Douglas:

District No. 5 shall consist of the counties of Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward and Saunders:

District No. 6 shall consist of the counties of Burt, Thurston, Dodge and Washington;

District No. 7 shall consist of the counties of Fillmore, Saline, Thayer and Nuckolls;

District No. 8 shall consist of the counties of Thurston, Dakota, Dixon and Cedar;

District No. 9 shall consist of the counties of Knox, Antelope, Cuming, Pierce, Madison, Stanton, and Wayne; and-Burt;

District No. 10 shall consist of the counties of Adams, Clay, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin and Webster:

District No. 11 shall consist of the county counties of Hall and Howard;

District No. 12 shall consist of the counties of Sherman and Buffalo:

District No. 13 shall consist of the counties of McPherson, Logan, Lincoln, and Dawson, Keith, Arthur, Grant, Hooker, and Thomas:

District No. 14 shall consist of the counties of Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Furnas, Red Willow, Hitchcock, Perkins, Gosper and Dundy;

District No. 15 shall consist of the counties of Brown, Keya Paha, Boyd, Rock, Holt and Wheeler Cherry:

District No. 16 shall consist of the counties of Cherry, Sheridan, Dawes, Box Butte and Sioux;

District No. 17 shall consist of the county counties of Scotts Bluff, Morrill, and Garden:

District No. 18 shall consist of the counties of Jefferson and Gage;

District No. 19 shall consist of the counties of Banner, Kimball, Horritt, Cheyenne, Garden, and Deuel; 7 Arthur-and-Keith:

District No. 20 shall consist of the counties of Grant, Hooker, Thomas, Blaine, Loup, Garfield, Greeley, Howard Wheeler, Valley and Custer; and

District No. 21 shall consist of the counties of Boone, Platte, Colfax, Nance and Merrick.

In the fourth district there shall be eleven twelve judges of the district court; in the third district there shall be four five judges of the district court; in the second, district there shall be three judges of the district court; in the fifth, sixth, ninth,

968

and tenth, eleventh, thirteenth, and seventeenth districts there shall be two judges of the district court in each of said districts; in all other districts there shall be one judge of the district court. The-Governor shall, on-Becember-25,-1969, appoint-two-district-judges to-fill-the-vacancies-by-creation-of-two-additional judges-for-Bistrict-Noz-4z-Such-appointments-shall-be made-as-provided-by-the-provisions-of-Chapter-24,-article 0;

Sec. 2. That section 5-105.03, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, 1943, be amended to read as follows:

5-105.03. The Governor shall, on duly-21,-1965 the effective date of this act, appoint a district judge to fill the-vacancy each of the vacancies caused by the creation of an additional judge for Bistrict-No.-2 Districts No. 2, 3, 4, 6, 11, 13, and 17. Such appointment appointments shall be made as provided by the provisions of Chapter 24, article 8.

Sec. 3. The changes in boundaries of judicial districts made by section 1 of this act shall become operative on the earliest date permissible under the Constitution of Nebraska.

Sec. 4. That original sections 5-105 and 5-105.03, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, 1943, and also sections 5-105 and 5-105.03, Revised Statutes Supplement, 1971, are repealed.