LEGISLATIVE BILL 1

Approved by the Governor February 14, 1975

Introduced by Stull, 49

AN ACT to amend section 5-105, Revised Statutes
Supplement, 1974, relating to apportionment;
to change the boundaries of district court
judicial districts; to provide an operative
date; to repeal the original section; and to
declare an emergency.

Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. That section 5-105, Revised Statutes Supplement, 1974, be amended to read as follows:

5-105. The State of Nebraska is hereby divided into twenty-one judicial districts as follows:

District No. 1 shall consist of the counties of Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha and Richardson;

District No. 2 shall consist of the counties of Sarpy, Cass and Otoe;

District No. 3 shall consist of the county of Lancaster;

District No. 4 shall consist of the county of Douglas;

District No. 5 shall consist of the counties of Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward and Saunders;

District No. 6 shall consist of the counties of Burt, Thurston, Dodge and Washington;

District No. 7 shall consist of the counties of Fillmore, Saline, Thayer and Nuckolls;

District No. 8 shall consist of the counties of Dakota, Dixon and Cedar;

District No. 9 shall consist of the counties of Knox, Antelope, Cuming, Pierce, Madison, Stanton, and Wayne;

District No. 10 shall consist of the counties of Adams, Clay, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin and Webster:

District No. 11 shall consist of the counties of Hall and Howard;

District No. 12 shall consist of the counties of Sherman and Buffalo;

District No. 13 shall consist of the counties of McPherson, Logan, Lincoln, Dawson, Keith, Arthur, Grant, Hooker, and Thomas;

District No. 14 shall consist of the counties of Chase, Hayes, Frontier, Furnas, Red Willow, Hitchcock, Perkins, Gosper and Dundy;

District No. 15 shall consist of the counties of Brown, Keya Paha, Boyd, Rock, Holt and Cherry;

District No. 16 shall consist of the counties of Sheridan, Grant, Dawes, Box Butte and Sioux;

District No. 17 shall consist of the counties of Scotts Bluff, Morrill, and Garden;

District No. 18 shall consist of the counties of Jefferson and Gage;

District No. 19 shall consist of the counties of Banner, Kimball, Cheyenne, and Deuel;

District No. 20 shall consist of the counties of Blaine, Loup, Garfield, Greeley, Wheeler, Valley and Custer; and

District No. 21 shall consist of the counties of Boone, Platte, Colfax, Nance and Merrick.

In the fourth district there shall be twelve judges of the district court; in the third district there shall be five judges of the district court; in the second district there shall be three judges of the district court; in the fifth, sixth, ninth, tenth, eleventh, thirteenth, and seventeenth districts there shall be two judges of the district court in each of said districts; in all other districts there shall be one judge of the district court.

Sec. 2. This act shall become operative on July 1. 1975.

Sec. 3. That original section 5-105, Revised Statutes Supplement, 1974, is repealed.

Sec. 4. Since an emergency exists, this act shall be in full force and take effect, from and after its passage and approval, according to law.

51