LB 853

LEGISLATIVE BILL 853

Approved by the Governor May 31, 2001

Introduced by Redistricting Committee: Coordsen, 32, Chairperson; Bourne, 8; Brashear, 4; Bromm, 23; Schimek, 27; Wickersham, 49; Kristensen, 37; Chambers, 11; Beutler, 28

AN ACT relating to redistricting; to amend sections 24-201.02 and 24-201.04, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska; to change boundaries of the Supreme Court judicial districts; to harmonize provisions; to repeal the original sections; and to declare an emergency.

Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. Section 24-201.02, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is amended to read:

24-201.02. The Based on the 2000 Census of Population by the United Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census, the State of Nebraska is States hereby divided into six Supreme Court judicial districts. Each district shall be entitled to one Supreme Court judge. The limits and designations of the six districts shall be as follows:

The counties of Lancaster, Cass, and Otoe; auDistrict No. 1. Johnson, Nemaha, and Richardson and that part of Cass County not located in Supreme Court judicial district 4;

District No. 2. That part of Douglas County not included in Supreme Court judicial district 4;

District No. 3. The counties of Boyd, Knox, Cedar, Dixon, Dakota, Holt, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Thurston, Garfield, Wheeler, Boone, Madison, Stanton, Cuming, Burt, Valley, Greeley, Howard, <u>Nance, Merrick,</u> Platte, Colfax, Dodge, and Washington;

District No. 4. Sarpy County, that part of Cass County which includes the North Plattsmouth precinct and the city of Plattsmouth, and that part of Douglas County beginning at the intersection of the Douglas-Sarpy County line and <u>South</u> 180th Street, north on <u>South</u> 180th Street to West Center Road, east on West Center Road to Interstate Highway 680, north on Interstate Highway 680 to Pacific Street, east on Pacific Street to Turner Boulevard, southeast and then northeast on Turner Boulevard to Pacific Street, east on Pacific Street and continuing east along east-west lines extending east from Pacific Street to South 20th Street, south on South 20th Street to Pierce Street, east on Pierce Street and continuing east along an east-west line extending east from Pierce Street to South 16th Street, north on South 16th Street to the intersection of an east-west line extending west from Pacific Street, east on along such line to Pacific Street, east on Pacific Street to South 11th Street, north on South 11th Street to Mason Street, east on Mason Street to South 10th Street, north on South 10th Street to the Union Pacific Railroad right-of-way, east along on the Union Pacific Railroad right-of-way to the Missouri River Nebraska-Iowa state line, south along the Missouri River Nebraska-Iowa state line to the Douglas-Sarpy County line, and west along the Douglas-Sarpy County line to the point of beginning;

District No. 5. The counties of Phelps, Harlan, Kearney, Franklin, Hall, Adams, Webster, Nuckolls, Thayer, Clay, Hamilton, Merrick, Nance, Polk, Butler, Saunders, York, Seward, Fillmore, Saline, Jefferson, Gage, and Johnson, Nemaha, Pawnee, and Richardson; and

District No. 6. The counties of Valley, Sherman, Buffalo, Furnas, Gosper, Dawson, Custer, Loup, Blaine, Rock, Brown, Keya Paha, Cherry, Thomas, Logan, Lincoln, Frontier, Red Willow, Hitchcock, Hayes, McPherson, Hooker, Grant, Arthur, Keith, Perkins, Chase, Dundy, Deuel, Garden, Sheridan, Cheyenne, Morrill, Box Butte, Dawes, Sioux, Scotts Bluff, Banner, and Kimball. Sec. 2. Section 24-201.04, Reissue Revised Statutes of Nebraska, is

amended to read:

24-201.04. The precinct and city mentioned in section 24-201.02 are the precinct and city set out in the 1990 Census of Population The descriptions of districts in section 24-201.02 are taken from the 2000 TIGER/Line files published by the United States Department of Commerce, Bureau of the Census.

3. Original sections 24-201.02 and 24-201.04, Reissue Revised Sec. Statutes of Nebraska, are repealed.

Sec. 4. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect when passed and approved according to law.