LB 92

LEGISLATIVE BILL 92

Approved by the Governor May 25, 2001

Introduced by Cudaback, 36; Baker, 44; Erdman, 47; Jones, 43; Schrock, 38

AN ACT relating to courts; to amend section 24-301.02, Revised Statutes Supplement, 2000; to provide an additional district court judgeship; to provide an operative date; to repeal the original section; and to declare an emergency.

Be it enacted by the people of the State of Nebraska,

Section 1. Section 24-301.02, Revised Statutes Supplement, 2000, is amended to read:

24-301.02. The State of Nebraska shall be divided into the following twelve district court judicial districts:

District No. 1 shall contain the counties of Saline, Jefferson, Gage, Thayer, Johnson, Pawnee, Nemaha, Fillmore, and Richardson;

District No. 2 shall contain the counties of Sarpy, Cass, and Otoe;

District No. 3 shall contain the county of Lancaster;

District No. 4 shall contain the county of Douglas;

District No. 5 shall contain the counties of Merrick, Platte, Colfax, Boone, Nance, Hamilton, Polk, York, Butler, Seward, and Saunders;

District No. 6 shall contain the counties of Dixon, Dakota, Cedar, Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;

Burt, Thurston, Dodge, and Washington;
District No. 7 shall contain the counties of Knox, Cuming, Antelope, Pierce, Wayne, Madison, and Stanton;

District No. 8 shall contain the counties of Cherry, Keya Paha, Brown, Rock, Blaine, Loup, Custer, Boyd, Holt, Garfield, Wheeler, Valley, Greeley, Sherman, and Howard;

District No. 9 shall contain the counties of Buffalo and Hall;

District No. 10 shall contain the counties of Adams, Clay, Phelps, Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, and Nuckolls;

Kearney, Harlan, Franklin, Webster, and Nuckolls;
District No. 11 shall contain the counties of Hooker, Thomas,
Arthur, McPherson, Logan, Keith, Perkins, Lincoln, Dawson, Chase, Hayes,
Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and Furnas; and

Frontier, Gosper, Dundy, Hitchcock, Red Willow, and Furnas; and
District No. 12 shall contain the counties of Sioux, Dawes, Box
Butte, Sheridan, Scotts Bluff, Morrill, Garden, Banner, Kimball, Cheyenne,
Grant, and Deuel.

Before July 1, 2000, in the fourth district there shall be fifteen judges of the district court, and on and after July 1, 2000, in In the fourth district there shall be sixteen judges of the district court. In the third district there shall be seven judges of the district court. In the twelfth district there shall be five judges of the district court. In the second, and fifth, and eleventh districts there shall be four judges of the district court. In the first, sixth, and ninth, and eleventh districts there shall be three judges of the district court. In the seventh, eighth, and tenth districts there shall be two judges of the district court.

Sec. 2. This act becomes operative on July 1, 2001.

Sec. 3. Original section 24-301.02, Revised Statutes Supplement, 2000, is repealed.

Sec. 4. Since an emergency exists, this act takes effect when passed and approved according to law.